ALBUM: HIM – "Screamworks: Love In Theory And Practice"

Finnish metallers HIM have been writing music together for 19 years. 7th album, Screamworks: Love In Theory And Practice finds HIM moving away from the heavy distorted sound as found in the album Venus Doom. In its place, the band have chosen to go down a more commercial route. Frontman Ville Valo’s vocals work extremely well with this style and sound amazing throughout the album. In some tracks, we are given a pop-punk sound, which hardcore HIM fans may not be used to. However, this works and produces a great sounding end result.

Instrumentally, the album sounds exceptional.The guitar riffs from Lindstrom and Paanenan sound brilliant. The focus however, is definitely on Ville Valo. The best parts of the album are when Valo lets loose a powerful vocal scream/howl, as in the track “Like St. Valentine”.

Highlights are “Scared To Death”, the acoustic track “Disarm Me (With Your Loneliness)”, and the final track “The Foreboding Sense of Impending Happiness”. My personal favourites from this album are “Heartkiller” and “Like St. Valentine”. HIM and metal fans in general should pick this album up. Its a little different in terms of sound, but the vocals of frontman Ville Valo and guitar riffs make this CD a must have.

Track listing

1. In Venere Veritas
2. Scared To Death
3. Heartkiller
4. Dying Song
5. Disarm Me (With Your Loneliness)
6. Love, The Hardest Way
7. Katherine Wheel
8. In The Arms Of Rain
9. Ode To Solitude
10. Shatter Me With Hope
11. Acoustic Funeral (For Love In Limbo)
12. Like St. Valentine
13. The Foreboding Sense Of Impending Happiness